Vanwege de coronamaatregelen kan de onderwijsvorm of tentaminering afwijken. Zie voor actuele informatie de betreffende cursuspagina’s op Brightspace.

Studiegids

nl en

Media Studies: Film and Photographic Studies

Description:

This one-year master’s programme takes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of ‘lens-based’ media: photography, film and video. Designed for students with an undergraduate degree in a related field or relevant professional experience, this programme offers excellent preparation for a career in cinema, photography or media art.

A high degree of cross-disciplinary thinking is encouraged, as is witnessed by the close collaboration with the Department of Art History and other departments of Leiden University as the Print Room/Division of Special Collections of the Leiden University Library.

For more information: Master Film and Photographic studies

Teaching method:

The various courses are offered in the form of lectures, meetings, discussions, seminars and excursions and through self-study, based on specific texts or photograpic objects, (historical) photographic sources, and in-depth analysis of history and criticism of photography.

Students work on various projects and presentations, and they are given the opportunity to follow an internship in the Netherlands or abroad.

Admission requirements:

Read more on Entry requirements

Staff:

Pepita Hesselberth, email: p.hesselberth@hum.leidenuniv.nl

Peter Verstraten, email: p.w.verstraten@hum.leidenuniv.nl

Bas Vroege, e-mail: b.j.vroege@hum.leidenuniv.nl

Helen Westgeest, e-mail: h.f.westgeest@hum.leidenuniv.nl

Janna Houwen, email: j.j.m.houwen@hum.leidenuniv.nl

Ali Shobeiri, email: s.a.shobeiri@hum.leidenuniv.nl

Information:

Coordinators of Studies: Maria Dijkgraaf and Laura Kouters. Email: stuco-ma-mediastudies@hum.leidenuniv.nl