nl en

Archeologie: MA Heritage and Museum Studies

Seen from an archaeological perspective and in so far as they are relevant to heritage management and modern museum practices, the specialisation Heritage and Museum Studies combines academic and practical aspects of cultural and landscape studies, politics, cultural theory and the environmental sciences.

The programme will take you through current approaches and ethical issues and allows you to experience some of them in daily practice.

Heritage and Museum Studies

Vak EC Semester 1 Semester 2

General part

Archaeological Theory 5

Career profile

Heritage Research: Methods and Approaches 5
Museums, Collections and Society 5
Community Heritage and Global Challenges 5
Master Thesis Heritage and Museum Studies 20

Choose any 2 focus area courses (see 'Focus area courses' tab above) (2 x 5 ec)

Choose 2 elective courses (see 'Electives' tab above) (2 x 5 ec)

Focus area courses

Vak EC Semester 1 Semester 2


Approaches to the Built Environment and Cultural Landscapes: Methods and Theory 5
Hunter-gatherer Archaeology 5


Area Specialisation Europe 10
Key Developments in European Prehistory 5

The Near East

Neolithisation in West Asia 5
Area Specialisation Eastern Mediterranean and West Asia 10
The Archaeology of the Assyrian Empire 5

The Mediterranean

Current Issues in the Archaeology of the Frontier Regions of the Roman Empire 5
The Archaeology of the Greek Mediterranean 5
The Archaeology of Daily Life in the First Millennium CE in the Mediterranean 5

The Americas

Climate Change, Archaeology and Heritage at Risk in the Caribbean and Coastal Americas 5
Current Issues in the Archaeology of Mesoamerica 5


Vak EC Semester 1 Semester 2
Underwater Archaeology and Maritime Landscapes 5
Data Analysis With Python 5
Master Internship: Heritage and Museum 5

or: free choice from the rest of the focus area courses

or: free choice from the courses of the other Archaeology profiles.

or: course outside of the faculty or the university. These need to be MA courses of at least level 400 and need to be officially approved by the Board of Examiners.