Studiegids

nl en

Media Studies: Film and Photographic Studies

Description:

The Master’s in Media Studies, track Film and Photographic Studies is a special educational program that is offered as a joint effort by the Academy of Creative and Performing Arts as a partnership by Leiden University and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in The Hague.

Furthermore, a high degree of cross-disciplinary thinking is encouraged, as is witnessed by the close collaboration with the Department of Art History and other departments of Leiden University as the Print Room/Division of Special Collections of the Leiden University Library.

For more information: Master Film and Photographic studies

Teaching method:

The various courses are offered in the form of lectures, meetings, discussions, seminars and excursions and through self-study, based on specific texts or photograpic objects, (historical) photographic sources, and in-depth analysis of history and criticism of photography.
Students work on various projects and presentations, and they are given the opportunity to follow an internschip in the Netherlands or abroad.

### Note for February intake:

Students from the February intake take Contemporary Theories of Film and Debates on Documentary Strategies in their first semester. During the semester they also already start working on their thesis. In the following semester they take Media, Art, Theory and one of the electives, Editorial and Curatorial Training Programme or Curating Film and Video. Also they will finish their thesis.

Admission requirements:

Read more on Entry requirements

Staff:

Pepita Hesselberth, email: p.hesselberth@hum.leidenuniv.nl
Peter Verstraten, email: p.w.verstraten@hum.leidenuniv.nl
Bas Vroege, e-mail: b.j.vroege@hum.leidenuniv.nl
Helen Westgeest, e-mail: h.f.westgeest@hum.leidenuniv.nl Janna Houwen, email: j.j.m.houwen@hum.leidenuniv.nl

Ali Shobeiri, email: s.a.shobeiri@hum.leidenuniv.nl

Information:

Coordinator of Studies: Dhr. J. Donkers, MA, P.N. van Eyckhof 4, room 1.02b.